Planning Commission

Who are we and what do we do?
We are a volunteer board made up of five Sugar Hill citizens appointed by the Mayor and Council to assist with decisions related to current and future land use regulation in the city. One of our main functions is to conduct public hearings on proposed changes to the city's zoning policies and prepare recommendations for consideration by the Mayor and Council. We do not create policy and serve only as a recommending body to the Mayor, Council, and city staff on a variety of land use policy issues.

When do we meet?
We typically hold our regular meetings on the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the council chamber at city hall, located at 5039 West Broad Street. A 15 minute work session is typically scheduled prior to each regular meeting. Meetings that would fall on a city holiday are usually scheduled for the following Tuesday. Occasionally, there are no business items for us to consider and the monthly meeting may be cancelled. All of our meetings including work sessions are open to the public.

Meeting agendas are posted on the city’s website and include the matters scheduled for consideration by the commission. If there are no agenda items, there will usually be no meeting that month. At the call of the chairperson, we meet at least once each quarter and at other times as determined by the members of the commission.

We need your input!
We are encouraged by strong community participation and will strive to provide a welcoming atmosphere for those who wish to express their views at the appropriate times during our meetings. The chairperson gives an overview of the hearing procedures at the start of each meeting in order to ensure a thorough and orderly proceeding. Since we have time limits associated with each public hearing, if you plan to address the commission at the meeting you should be prepared to share time at the lectern with others who may wish to speak on the same items.

Should you be unavailable to attend any of our meetings or hearings please contact any of the city's planning and development staff for more information or to submit comments for our consideration. We look forward to hearing from you and thank you for your contribution to our Sweet City!

Planning commission members

Jeremy White - Chair
Post 4
Julie Adams - Vice Chair
Post 3
Rosemary Walsh
Post 1
Jason Jones
Post 2
Phil Olsen
Post 5