



WHEREAS, the Sugar Hill Youth Council join the Sugar Hill Mayor and City Council in being saddened by the tragic events that have recently occurred across the country and agree with their resolution adopted on June 8, 2020 condemning racism; and

**WHEREAS**, Sugar Hill is a highly diverse community and it is this diversity that makes it such a desirable place to live, work, shop, play, worship, and get an education; and

**WHEREAS**, Juneteenth is a day that celebrates the emancipation of those who had been enslaved in the United States, and in 2011, Georgia became the 37th state to officially recognize Juneteenth; and

**WHEREAS**, Sugar Hill citizens, young and old alike, gathered peacefully on Friday, June 19th in celebration of the end of slavery, anywhere it exists, reaffirming that people of all races, ethnicities, cultures, and faiths contribute to Sugar Hill's strength and well-being; and

WHEREAS, members of the community, some city staff, and many community businesses participate in Juneteenth celebrations, helping raise the stature and awareness of the significance of the day; and

**WHEREAS**, cities across the United States are adding Juneteenth to their list of holidays as a way to help recognize the significance and importance of this day to America's history; and

WHEREAS, the Sugar Hill Youth Council recently adopted a resolution supporting the official recognition of Juneteenth as well as recommending making Juneteenth an official city holiday.

**NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Mayor and City Council join with the Sugar Hill Youth Council to officially recognize Juneteenth (June 19) to help raise awareness and pay tribute to this important time in our collective history.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Mayor and City Council take under advisement for further study the recommendation that the city consider making Juneteenth an official city holiday.

ADOPTED this 10th day of August, 2020 at the City of Sugar Hill, Georgia.





Youth Mayor, Khushi Mehta

Youth Mayor Pro Tem, Lexi Ducote

Youth Secretary, Daniel Park

Youth Council, Bhaumi Shah

Youth Council, Avery Tam

Youth Council, Bailey Coleman

Youth Council, Harshika Mehta

Youth Council, Milen Patel

Steve Edwards, Mayor

Susie Gajewski, Mayor Pro-Tem

Taylor Anderson, Council Member

Marc Cohen, Council Member

Brandon Hembree, Council Member