

WHEREAS, Wanda Law has served in Gwinnett County education for thirty-three years, beginning her career as a Math Teacher at Lilburn MS and Creekland MS; an Assistant Principal at Lanier MS and Jones MS; the Principal at Sycamore Elementary School and then the first Principal of North Gwinnett Middle School where she has been for thirteen years; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Law is respected by both the school community and her peers alike. She spent endless hours cultivating leadership in teachers and administrators so that they may realize the importance of education; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Law was named Georgia Middle School Principal of the Year in 2014 and Georgia Music Educators Association Administrator of the Year in 2017. She also received the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders Dr. Jimmy Stokes Distinguished Service Award and the Georgia Student Council Association Administrator of the Year Award in 2020; and previously served as the President of the Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals; and President of the Gwinnett County Public Schools Local School Administrator Association; and

WHEREAS, she has been a speaker at important educational conferences including the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders Conference, the Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals Conference, and the National Association of Secondary School Principals Conference; and

WHEREAS, Wanda Law has made an exceptional difference in the lives of her staff and her students and has provided inspiration to her peers, recognizing, and promoting excellence in education. She has truly made a significant impact on both the school system and the Sugar Hill community.

NOW THEREFORE, the City of Sugar Hill Mayor and City Council do hereby acknowledge Wanda Law and encourage all its citizens to congratulate her on her accomplishments as one of the country's finest educational leaders; and wish her well as she begins a new chapter of her life.

So, proclaimed this 13th day of June 2022 as Wanda Law Day in Sugar Hill.

Brandon Hembree, Mayor

Taylor Anderson, Mayor Pro Tem

Marc Cohen, Council Member

Alvin Hicks, Council Member

Mason Roszel, Council Member

Jennifer Thatcher, Council Member