## SUMMARY CITY OF SUGAR HILL PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING MONDAY, OCTOBER 21, 2024 – 7:00 PM CITY HALL COMMUNITY ROOM 5039 WEST BROAD STREET SUGAR HILL, GA. 30518 OFFICE: 770-945-6734

# ATTENDANCE

Present: Chairman Phil Olsen, Vice Chairman Jason Jones, Commission Members Rosemary Walsh, and Mark Daniels, City Attorney Lee Thompson, Interim Planning Director Rebecca Keefer, Planning Director Artagus Newell, Planning Technician Kimberly B. Landers, and Planners Logan Witter and Claire Weatherly. Absent Commission Member Brian Shebs.

# CALL TO ORDER

• Meeting called to order at 7:04 PM by Chairman Phil Olsen.

### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

• Led by Chairman Phil Olsen.

### APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

• Motion by Jason Jones, seconded by Mark Daniels. APPROVED 4-0.

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

• September 16, 2024, minutes were tabled. Mark Daniels, seconded by Rosemary. TABLED 4-0.

## BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS None

### **CITIZENS COMMENTS**

Citizen Amber Chambers indicated that since the meeting was in a different room she was recording on her phone, enhanced audio was not available and asked that everyone please speak up.

#### OLD BUSINESS None

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

• Interim Planning Director Rebecca Keefer welcomed Artagus Newell as the new Planning Director.

# 1. PLANNING COMMISSION TRAINING SESSION

Interim Planning Director Rebecca Keefer and Planner Claire Weatherly went over the PowerPoint presentation
prepared by staff. Training topics included Planning Commission Meeting Agendas, Work Session, Meeting
Preparation, Commission Member dialogue, Staff Recommendations and Tools, Commission Members structure,
roles, and responsibilities, discussion of Rezonings, Special Use Permits, and the Comprehensive Plan. Discussion
and suggested changes were requested by the Commission Members but no action taken.

# 2. PLANNING COMMISSION BYLAWS DISCUSSION

Interim Planning Director Rebecca Keefer went over the Bylaws discussion. Discussion and suggested changes were
requested by the Commission Members but no action was taken.

# ADJOURNMENT

- Meeting adjourned at 9:08 pm
  - o Motion to adjourn: Rosemary Walsh, seconded by Mark Daniels. APPROVED 4-0