MINUTES

CITY OF SUGAR HILL PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING MONDAY, OCTOBER 21, 2024 – 7:00 PM CITY HALL COMMUNITY ROOM 5039 WEST BROAD STREET SUGAR HILL, GA. 30518

OFFICE: 770-945-6734

ATTENDANCE

Present: Chairman Phil Olsen, Vice Chairman Jason Jones, Commission Members Rosemary Walsh, and Mark Daniels, City Attorney Lee Thompson, Interim Planning Director Rebecca Keefer, Planning Director Artagus Newell, Planning Technician Kimberly B. Landers, and Planners Logan Witter and Claire Weatherly. Absent Commission Member Brian Shebs.

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 7:04 PM by Chairman Phil Olsen.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by Chairman Phil Olsen.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Vice Chairman Jason Jones made a motion to approve the agenda. Commission Member Mark Daniels made the second. **Motion APPROVED 4-0.**

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Commission Member Mark Daniels made a motion to table the September 16, 2024, minutes. Commission Member Rosemary Walsh made the second. **Motion to TABLE 4-0.**

BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS None

CITIZENS COMMENTS

Citizen Amber Chambers indicated that since the meeting was in a different room she was recording on her phone, enhanced audio was not available and asked that everyone please speak up.

OLD BUSINESS None

NEW BUSINESS

Interim Planning Director Rebecca Keefer welcomed Artagus Newell as the new Planning Director.

1. PLANNING COMMISSION TRAINING SESSION

The Interim Planning Director Rebecca Keefer and Planner Claire Weatherly went over the PowerPoint presentation prepared by staff. The training topics included Planning Commission Meeting Agendas, Work Session, Meeting Preparation, Commission Member dialogue, Staff Recommendations and Tools for Commission Members, Commission Members structure, roles, and responsibilities, and a discussion of Rezonings, Special Use Permits, and the Comprehensive Plan.

2. PLANNING COMMISSION BYLAWS DISCUSSION

The Interim Planning Director Rebecca Keefer reviewed the draft bylaws. The Commission members held a discussion and offered suggested changes to be updated by staff, but no action was taken.

ADJOURNMENT

Commission Member Rosemary Walsh made a motion to adjourn. Commission Member Mark Daniels made the second. Motion to adjourn **APPROVED 4-0**

Meeting adjourned 9:08 pm