City News |

Paul Radford Inducted into the Georgia Municipal Hall of Fame

SAVANNAH – Paul Radford is one of four outstanding local government leaders inducted into the Georgia Municipal Government Hall of Fame on Monday, June 24 at the Georgia Municipal Association’s (GMA) Annual Convention in Savannah.

Radford has impacted Georgia’s cities through nearly five decades of public service. His career began with regional commissions focused on community and economic development, followed by serving as Cook County’s first County Manager. Radford then became the Deputy Commissioner at the Georgia Department of Community Affairs, where he helped design and implement programs like the Community Development Block Grant and the Georgia Planning Act. After 23 years with DCA, he joined the Georgia Municipal Association (GMA) as Deputy Executive Director in 2001, overseeing governmental relations, research, policy development, public information, communications, membership outreach, and downtown development. His efforts at GMA included shaping the legislative platform, revitalizing the policy development process, and creating the Metro Atlanta Mayors Association.

Radford also played a key role in the revitalization of Georgia’s downtowns through the Georgia Downtown Renaissance Partnership. In 2013, Radford became the City Manager of Sugar Hill, transforming its city center with amenities such as an outdoor amphitheater, restaurants, retail shops, a gymnasium, an indoor theatre, and an Olympic-size ice skating rink. Despite his role in Sugar Hill, Radford continues to support GMA and other cities through active participation in the Legislative Policy Council and the Federal Policy Council. His nearly 50 years of service have left a lasting influence on Georgia’s cities, enhancing governance and quality of life statewide.

(left to right) Randall Walker, Mayor of Perry and GMA immediate past president, City of Sugar Hill City Manager Paul Radford, CEO and Executive Director of GMA Larry Hanson

The Hall of Fame recognizes city officials who have made extraordinary contributions to the city they serve and have exhibited strong support for GMA. This year’s other inductees are:

  • Willie Thomas Edmondson (posthumous), former Mayor of LaGrange
  • Nancy Harris, former Mayor of Duluth
  • Randall Walker, Mayor of Perry and GMA immediate past president

“These leaders have set an exemplary standard of dedication and service to their communities and to the state of Georgia,” said Larry Hanson, CEO and Executive Director of GMA. “Their visionary leadership and unwavering commitment to public service have significantly advanced the quality of life in their cities and have left a lasting impact on municipal governance in Georgia. We are honored to recognize their outstanding contributions and legacy.”

GMA is proud to welcome these accomplished leaders into the Georgia Municipal Government Hall of Fame.

About the Georgia Municipal Association: Based in Atlanta, GMA is a voluntary, non-profit organization that provides legislative advocacy, educational, employee benefit and consulting services to all of Georgia’s 537 cities. GMA anticipates and influences the forces shaping Georgia’s cities and to provide leadership, tools and services that assist municipal governments in becoming more innovative, effective and responsive. Created in 1933, the Georgia Municipal Association (GMA) is the only state organization that represents municipal governments in Georgia. For more information, visit


Close Search Window
Skip to content